The Design

The heading of the website I have put in red intentionally.  I think that the different shades of red are very typical of the BBC and make my website look serious and professional.  The colour red seems to contrast really well with the white logo and the menu.

 

When someone looks at my news website they will notice that it is a news website straight away from the stylistic choices of the heading, as well as the website being called News-Sandwich, it couldn’t really be more obvious what the site is used for.

 

Every news website that I have researched has a menu and a search bar, so, I integrated this into my website.  I felt like it would make my website appear professional as it helps the users navigate around the website. When a website runs smoothly the user takes voyeuristic pleasure in using it. If a website doesn’t navigate smoothly, the chances of people returning to use your website are very limited. Therefore, I think this aspect of the website is extremely important.

 

Notice how the words in the menu are also white; I did this so it coincides with the title of the website.

 

Through researching news outlets, I noticed that The Hull Daily Mail and SKY News both have a larger segment dedicated to, what they think is the top news story. I like this idea because it shows the readers what it the top circulating news; through this your readers are more aware and knowledgeable about what the important news of the day is. Although, my news website doesn’t deal with breaking news as such at the moment, it could do in the future. So, the idea of presenting the biggest news story of my website larger than the rest is a great idea.

 

As you can see from the screen shot, I have made the image a lot larger in comparison to the other smaller news stories; this is to stress the importance of the story to the readers. I have also used a grey box to highlight the beginning of the story; I have done this to attempt to draw in the reader so that they engage with the stories on the front page of the website.

 

Underneath the top story I have placed three other stories on the front page. I have made the images and text smaller to the main story to emphasise that they have less significance than the top one but still are significant because they have made the front page.

 

I have also separated these news stories using a thin grey line; I chose grey because it matches the boxes that contain the writing on the front page.  The Telegraph also uses this technique on their news website.

 

The news story titles I have put in black. I have done this because it is the opposite of white and looks better on a white background. It also shows that the name of the website (In white) is important, almost as important as the content because that is the name of the brand.

 

To further separate the content on the front page, I have used a different colour grey to separate the news style content for lifestyle stuff such as cheap eats etc… This is located on the right side of the website under ‘Editors choice’; these are a collection of quirky articles by the students. A collection of the ones that are my personal favourites. I think this gives the website a bit of a student feel.

 

Another feature of the website is the ‘read on’ buttons that are located next to each article on the front cover. I have used a brighter red than the heading of the website. The reason behind this is stylistically the colour still fits in with the theme. But, the button is very noticeable to the reader and they can clearly see where they need to navigate to so they can read more of the article.

 

 

 

 

The red box on the left hand side of the website isn’t really used within news websites; usually they have a separate page to explain what they are all about. However, I feel the need to make what the website is all about abundantly clear on the front page, this way people fully understand what sort of website they have accessed.

 

Again, I have used a similar red to the heading so that the colours work well together with the style of my choice and also, I have used the lines again to break up the sections within the explanation of the website.

 

Located on the right hand side is a segment of the website entitles ‘Student Features’. This part of my website I am using for secondary sources. I am going to update it weekly with useful apps that people can download on their iphones or smart phones to help them make their journalism portfolio brilliant.  As well as apps I am also going to put links to media job websites and websites that help students save money.

 

I feel that this section will make the website have a further student feel and encourage students to look into their portfolio with seriousness.

Leave a Reply

