Luv Ull express

Luv Ull express

 

On the 14.11.2013 I received a phone call from Paul asking if I knew anybody that could film in Paragon Interchange for him.

 

Unfortunately, I couldn’t because I was already conducting interviews and creating a video of the Platform Expos 2013 on the weekend he needed it.

 

After asking around to see if anybody wanted a filming opportunity, I decided that I would film for him on the Saturday and visit Platform Expos 2013 on the Friday as I couldn’t find anybody to film for him.

 

The filming needed was to promote a new book that has just been published and is Luv Ull’s first book publication.

 

Author John Brien has published a booked entitled ‘Me Sannies Are Brannies!’  Meaning my sand shoes are brand new using the Hull dialect. The book explores John’s accounts and fascination with the Hull dialect and he wanted to capture how people from Hull speak.

 

How John and Paul wanted to capture the Hull dialect was to ask people to make up a poem, tell them a story or write down some words that are commonly used in Hull.

 

So I borrowed a Panasonic video camera and Tripod from The Hull School of Art and Design and went down to the Paragon Interchange with them to get people to perform in front of me and my video camera.

 

If people took part they were presented with a Luv Ull badge and a free signed copy of the book!

 

I felt that this was a fantastic opportunity to start getting involved with the Luv Ull project.

 

After the full day of filming (9am- 5pm) we had a lot of footage and dead batteries, the idea is to use the people speaking for a promotional video for the book and Hull itself.

 

Underneath are the comments that people wrote down before being filmed.

 

Me mam says if I burn pikelets again she’s going to chow at me. But, I got some tinnies from beer off and fell asleep for an hour, you see. My mam wouldn’t have known but our kid spragged on me and I’m glad he did because if the house burnt down it’d be a tragedy.

Scott Mansell    scott.mansell@googlemail.com

 

I’m Joe and my mum is from Winchester. WE have an age old argument about the Bus and Bath.

Joe Brodie brodiedrum@gmail.com

 

I remember as a kid getting a croggy from my big sister. Down tenfoot as we headed home for our tea, in them days the summers were mafting because we were often in late for tea me mam used to chow at us. If we were good we could go to the beer to buy some goodies.

Leedibnah@hotmail.com

 

I love patty and chips, especially with chip spice!

Bethany Clarke bethboop@hotmail.co.uk

 

My didlum brings me happiness, my didlum brings me grief but when it comes to Christmas I breathe a sigh of relief.

Julie Rymer

 

I will chow at anybody who calls Hull ‘ull.

Sue Brown

 

Are you out tonight, if you can I can give you a croggy, don’t be late or your mam will bray you.

Mrs. Marlene Adamson

 

 

Bains are coming to tea.

R.Bulter

 

The fost book I read was about a bain.

Ben Andrew Kray123@hotmail.co.uk

 

Riding around Greatfield, my mates giving me a croggy.

Harry Walkington walkies4@walkies4.karoo.co.uk

 

Im nither’d but I’m not mafting.

Andy Butler andy_butler@hotmail.com

 

My boyfriend calls crumpets pikelets and I don’t so we have discussions about what they are called each time we have them.

Kayleigh Green kayls_90@live.co.uk

 

I’ll take the bains to shop to get some goodies.

Lucy and sophie  lucybethpick@hotmail.co.uk  sophiesworkstation@hotmail.co.uk

 

I’m feeling nesh (cold)

K.Ribbertson

 

We went swimming down barny drain and my hair was so taffled up that me mam had to pull the lugs out.

Hannah Barker

 

Batter, to hurt someone.

Mark Farell

 

Be myself huh? Is there anyone else I could be? Surly if there was u would still be me? This is what we are told. We are told to be ourselves. We are ourselves no matter how we act, we are a city of diversity and we are not afraid to be ourselves.

 

I’m going to bray ya mate.

Lorey Camplnglo

 

I was telling my friend from London about the Philip Larking toads but my accent made him think I said turds.

Peter Connington

 

Our lass made my packing up which tasted like hell, what she put in it I really couldn’t tell because there was a different smell. I wish she had done me fish and chips, with chip spice as well.

Dane Sanderson

 

We bought a new tamsad for our baby boy. But our pride and pleasure soon turned sour. We had gone into hammends and left it in the entrance near the lift along with several others. We came back to find it wasn’t there, we searched and searched. But it was gone. We were very angry and upset.

Rose Turner.

 

I will cast a spell that will make you go to hell. In my finger there’s a spell and my finger hurts like hell.

Stephen Burns

 

Donkeys years ago, my dad’s kid bro got spragged on for twagging. He got home and his mam brayed him.

Sophie, Jade, Jessica and Patrick Wool. Swood77@swood77.karoo.co.uk

 

 

Give us a croggy or I’ll sprag on you.

Nicola Coates

 

 

I’m a Hessle roader born and bred. ‘Ull’ is my city it’s where I was wed. Fish was our mainstay it was part of our life, but we’ll still carry on through trouble and strife.

Sheila Lee

 

Everyday, I go back home from school through some many tenfoots.

Giuoshu pei peiguoshu0808@hotmail.com

 

Going away on a train, hopefully it won’t rain, I’m going to Ull however, so dull WTF! I’m going to my mum who chows and rows, going to my dog what a hog, scratches and claws with the gigantic paws, I love my dog. Going to a party getting drunk and having fun!

Lauren Skannan

 

Me dad wur a minster, grandfather to, I tried it for a while but fer me it wunt do. So I packed up me things and went off to the sea, this often got blotto on river side quay.

 

I was born in March 1941 in Hull and my mother has ten children and she had to cook and wash the pots, she had to do the laundry and use a flat iron in a scullery which is now known as a kitchen. She had to put the lat iron on the gas while it heated up and then spit on it to see if it was hot enough.

 

I visited York the other day and asked for patty and chips. This request was met with total confusion. I eventually settled for battered sausage.

Ms. Jennifer Gale.

 

I went to Scunthorpe and wanted Dinner, fish, patty and chips.  They game me fish patty and I said no fish, patty and chips. They said we have given you that, fish patty with chips.

Paul sargeant.

I always used to chow at the kids.

Patricia Sargeant.

 

I love Pikelets I used to have them every Sunday morning in the back Kitchen.

Josie Kay.

There once was a numpty from ‘ull, who’d been to Maccys and was full, his wife would smack her, face full of bacca and then he died from industrial poisoning.

Brad Hill  lddatherton@hotmail.com

 

I remember when I came home from work in Brekkis. Fish house and dock and strip off in he sculley. Either for a strip wash and if we had money for the gas, a bath, in a tin bath, happy days.

 

Our kid came down the tenfoot with his bains, all carrying pack ups and a Kayliee each ready for school. Wearing their brannie sannies and becoming taffled in their mittens, scarves and ruckies. Chowing at each other and rowing over the last pikelet brought from home on a Baltic winter morning. Balling to be allowed to have a croggy off a mate instead of walking with the old man. Yet there he is, taffling with hats to cover the tin lids lugs and keep them toasty until it’s home tome and they’re hard on in bed on a radily darkening evening. He gets nowt but a sleepy smile and a snuggle for his hard grafting, Being dad.

Naomi Myers missmyers@live.co.uk

 

Giz a croggie on yer bike, we can go anywhere you like, so long as it’s somewhere in Ull to keep our hearts brimming full.

Mai Ganland.

 

 

 

I love to go to Hull fair and eat patty and chips since I was a child. Patty’s are such a part of Hull life.

Mo muriel01@hotmail.co.uk

 

Ull is the pace to be, to have a didlum just you and me, come as often as you like, to share and welcome out delight. Ull is a sight to see with places and culture for all to be, you’ll never find a town so varied with life, friendliness, power and positive sight, remember ‘Ull born and bred, to help others gain knowledge of a wonderful city, always cheerful and never frown.

Ms. Lesley Ann Wilson

 

 

My grandchildren do not know that a spell means a splinter. – They live down South.

D.Garrity

 

I was a G.P.O telephonist and were taught to say the number five and nine properly. My grandchildren say naine and fiave

 

I’m just off down beer off to pick up a bottle of stout, and if your good, I’ll bring you some goodies and if you’re not you’ll get nowt.

Les les@voices.karoo.co.uk

 

Speaking to my sister from Wales and asked her if she was larking out and she did not know what I was talking about, so I had to explain to hear what larking out was.

Eleanor Boughen.

 

In Hull there is a large amount of males who always refer to their partner as ‘our lass’ or ‘my mrs’.

David Treacher davidtreacher1@hotmail.co.uk

 

I went to Scunthorper a few years ago and I went into a chip shop and asked for a pattie and chips they asked me what a pattie was because they only sell fish cakes.

Ronald Jackson

 

I walk down the tenfoot and saw out kid and you should or saw what he did.

Daisy Holmes.

 

Someone from Hull – A celebrity, can remember going to the fish shop and asking for chips and I forgot what they called them. I think they are called scraps, I shouted at the tele.

I was brought up on Hessle road, I was walking to work when someone said to me can you tell me where gilet street is? He was stood in it, he was looking for a factory.

Dorothy Mckie.

 

(St John’s Pub, Queens Road, Thursday evening- mid 70’s.) In the back room having a social evening, a friend, from Lancashire with his own accent saw a pie in a cabinet behind the counter. He asked for the pie with his pint of ‘Ull mild. There was a long pause and the bar tender said “ oh ness, them pies aren’t while Friday’.

Steve Clali (Originally a Leeds man)

 

Hull is full of childhood memories. Our house was an old Victorian house. We had a front room, middle room, back kitchen and scullery leading into the back yard.

The front that I have heard mostly used amongst young children is ‘I’ll bray you!’

I’ve travelled far and wide as I am a truck driver and no-one has heard of Patties, they always give you fish cakes.

John Sargerson  sargerjohn@yahoo.co.uk

 

 

I decided to offer to type up all the comments from the day for Paul. He was very happy that I did this and we now hold an electronic version of all the quotes which is good for future reference when we come to making the video.

Paul said that we are going to visit The Hull Daily Mail to look at their archives to incorporate into a video that we are going to be making.  Therefore I am waiting to create the video with him; I think that using old footage or photographs from Hull’s older days could be a fantastic combination.

The day gave me a sense of working in the journalism industry, because I met and interviewed over 70 people I got a feel for what it is like to meet many strangers and chat to them about their lives on and off camera. I thought it was brilliant!

2 thoughts on “Luv Ull express

Leave a Reply

